2012 Awards

The annual TCG Awards are a vital part of acknowledging unyielding commitment and artistic contributions to the theatre field. Since 2001, the TCG Awards have saluted extraordinary dedication to the American theatre community. Nominations for these awards come from leaders of TCG member theatres, affiliate members, and other theatre service organizations. These honors were presented at the 2012 TCG National Conference in Boston.


TCG strives to cultivate and celebrate the artistic talent and achievements of the theatre field and promote a larger public understanding of and appreciation for the theatre. It is up to the TCG community to call our attention to artists and funders who are shaping the theatre field and leading it into the future. Each TCG member theatre is urged to nominate one honoree in each award category. There are several criteria in thinking about nominations: TCG Awards to theatres and theatre practitioners recognize sustained and exemplary service to the larger field. TCG Awards to donors recognize sustained achievements, reinforcing the importance of giving and encouraging others to emulate noteworthy giving programs. Recipients are selected by a committee of TCG's Board of Directors from the pool of nominees.




The TCG National Funder Award:

The National Funder Award recognizes a small, midsize, or large company or foundation that has evidenced leadership and provided outstanding sustained national support of theatre in America. Previous Recipients: Altria, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, AT&T, the Boeing Company, Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, the Edgerton Foundation, the Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust, the Humana Inc./the Humana Foundation, the Nathan Cummings Foundation, the Shubert Foundation, the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize, Target, Time Warner, Inc, and the Wallace Foundation.


Presented by: Tim Jennings, Managing Director, Children's Theatre Company


Accepted By: Tim McClimon, President, American Express Foundation


American Express has been supporting nonprofit theater, and the Theatre Communications Group, for a number of years with a recent focus on supporting leadership development for emerging leaders. The American Express/TCG Leadership Boot Camp selects 30 participants – 15 Artistic or Executive Directors with 15 emerging leaders from the same organizations – and places them in a program designed to enhance the leadership skills of the participating individuals, foster intergenerational dialogues, and create a more effective leadership environment at the participants' home organizations.

The Alan Schneider Director Award:

The Alan Schneider Director Award was established in honor of Alan Schneider's significant contribution to the American theatre and his lifelong concern for the development of career opportunities for freelance directors. The award is designed to identify and assist exceptional directors whose talent has been demonstrated through work in specific regions, but who are not known nationally.


Presented by: Marc Masterson, Artistic Director, South Coast Repertory


Accepted By: Bart DeLorenzo


Bart DeLorenzo is the founding artistic director of the Evidence Room in Los Angeles. Recently, he has directed productions at the Geffen Playhouse, South Coast Repertory, the Kirk Douglas Theater, the Cleveland Playhouse, CalArts, and the Odyssey Theater, including premieres of Donald Margulies, Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa, and Justin Tanner.


TCG Theatre Practitioner Award:

The Theatre Practitioner Award recognizes a living individual - artist or administrator, institutionally affiliated or unaffiliated - whose work in the American theatre has evidenced exemplary achievement over time and who has contributed significantly to the development of the larger field. While the award was originally designed to honor an individual, nominations for an ensemble, collective, or partnership will be considered in cases in which joint/collective contribution makes it difficult to pinpoint the primacy of a single individual. This award is meant to recognize a living practitioner and cannot be given posthumously. Previous Recipients: René Buch and Gilberto Zaldívar, Peter Culman, Gordon Davidson, Zelda Fichandler, Maria Irene Fornes, Bernard Gersten, Woodie King, Jr., Ming Cho Lee, Elizabeth LeCompte, Lloyd Richards, Ellen Stewart, William Swetland, and Luis Valdez.


Presented by: Lydia Diamond, Playwright


Accepted By: Michael Maso, Managing Director, Huntington Theatre Company


Michael Maso has led the Huntington's administrative and financial operations since 1982, producing more than 160 plays in partnership with three artistic directors and leading the Huntington's ten-year drive to build the Stanford Calderwood Pavilion at the Boston Center for the Arts, which opened in September 2004.


Peter Zeisler Memorial Award:

The Peter Zeisler Memorial Award recognizes an individual or organization whose work reflects and promotes the ingenuity and artistic integrity that Peter Zeisler, late executive director of TCG, prized. The honorees exemplify pioneering practices in theatre, are dedicated to the freedom of expression, and are unafraid of taking risks for the advancement of the art form. In honor of Peter's uncanny ability to introduce talent to the rest of the field, the nominees should not have been recognized nationally for their work. Previous recipients: Daniel Beaty, Will Power, Jack Reuler, Mildred Ruiz and Steven Sapp, Elevator Repair Service, and The Foundry Theatre.


Presented by: Diane Rodriguez, Associate Producer & Director of New Play Production, Center Theatre Group


Accepted By: Jay McAdams, Executive Director, 24th Street Theatre Company


24th Street Theatre Company, based in Los Angeles, California, produces theatre for all ages as well as arts education and community outreach programming. Their mission is to engage, educate, and provoke their diverse community with excellent theatre and arts education.

The TCG Visionary Leadership Award:

The TCG Visionary Leadership Award is given to an individual who has gone above and beyond the call of duty to advance the theatre field as a whole, nationally and/or internationally. Nominations for this award are accepted for both practicing professionals and volunteers, and while the award is envisioned to go to an individual, nominations are accepted for teams who have provided strong leadership for the field. Possible recipients of this award are individuals who regularly think beyond their day-to-day work in order to implement practices, new models, advocacy efforts, etc. on behalf of the field. Recipients have includedMartha Coigney, Todd London and Bill Rauch.


Presented by: Robert Hupp, Producing Artistic Director, Arkansas Repertory Theatre


Accepted By: Ed Bullins, Playwright


Ed Bullins has written over fifty plays dealing with the intricacies of the Black experience in America. Bullins entered the literary world during the Black Power Movement, a period of racial pride and social consciousness. He became involved in the social and political activity of the Black Panther Party for Self Defense and eventually served as the organization’s Minister of Culture. His early affiliation with community organizations intended to educate and uplift through the Arts (also known as the Black Arts Movement) greatly influenced the thematic structure of his plays.