Facing AAPI Race-Based Harassment & Self-Defense

By Adrian Budhu posted 20 days ago

  

A*TCA Spring Training!
WHAT: Facing AAPI Race-Based Harassment & Self-Defense
WHO: Facilitated by Adriana Li of IMPACT Boston
WHEN: This Friday June 4. 4pm EST// 3pm CST// 2pm MST// 1pm PST// 12pm AKT// 10am HST
HOW: Register here for the Zoom link: https://bit.ly/3yKlI0H 

__________

 Free Training for our AAPI* Theater community and extended families (16 to elders)!

Join us for a 2-hour workshop with IMPACT BOSTON and trainer Adriana Li on Facing AAPI Race-Based Harassment & Self-Defense Training. This training is being offered free in partnership with CAATA to our AAPI* Theater Community and your families. 

During the COVID-19 pandemic, many Asian American Pacific Islander communities have faced increased race-based harassment. This class introduces strategies that can be helpful in the face of race-based harassment, with opportunities to practice in role-plays against a mock assailant. This class covers:

  • Adrenaline management skills to regulate our own emotions
  • De-escalation strategies to use with the assailant
  • Verbal boundary setting techniques
  • Best practices for bystander intervention when witnessing harassment or other unsafe situations

 This class is for AAPI identified and presenting individuals, and intended for folks 16 years and up. ASL interpretation will be provided.

Permalink