Get ready to THRIVE! June 7-11

By Anne Ciarlone posted 14 days ago

  
THRIVE! Week is a week of programming by, for, and about theatremakers who identify as BIPOC, POC or People of the Global Majority, held between June 7th-11th.

All theatremakers, regardless of racial identity, are welcome to join us at a conversation between Sarah Bellamy & Resmaa Menakem on Wednesday, June 9th at 7:30pm EST and Bringing the Heat: TCG's Theatres of Color Celebration on Thursday, June 10th at 7pm EST.


Bringing the Heat:
TCG's 4th Annual Theatres of Color Celebration
Thursday, June 10th 
7:00-9:00pm EST / 6:00-8:00pm CT / 5:00-7:00pm MT/
4:00-6:00pm PST / 3:00-5:00pm AKDT / 1:00-3:00pm HST

Images above: a collage of screenshots of performers and attendees from 2020's Too Legit to Quit: A Theatres of Color Virtual Event and text that reads "We will always be here".

Last year’s Theatres of Color Celebration was Too Legit to Quit and we can’t wait to be back this year with more art, more music, and more rocking dance moves. If you joined us, you’ll remember a powerful artists showcase, interactive programming exploring Theatres of Color, and a dance party that raged into the night. Read up on the whole evening 
here. Everyone is welcome to join us, but be sure to register now so you don’t miss out on any of the action.

In Conversation:
Sarah Bellamy & Resmaa Menakem
Wednesday, June 9th
7:30-8:15pm EST / 6:30-7:15pm CT / 5:30-6:15pm MT /
4:30-5:15pm PST / 3:30-4:15pm AKDT / 1:30-2:15pm HST
Sarah Bellamy
Resmaa Menakem
Everyone in our community is welcome to join us for a poignant and healing conversation between Sarah Bellamy and Resmaa Menakem. Resmaa Menakem is a Healer, New York Times Best-Selling Author, and Trauma Specialist whose book My Grandmother’s Hands examines the damage caused by racism in America from the perspective of trauma and body-centered psychology. Sarah Bellamy is the Artistic Director for Penumbra Center for Racial Healing. She is a leading facilitator around issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion and has led coalition building efforts to address inequities in philanthropy and theatre.
 
The rest of THRIVE! week’s programming will be in affinity spaces for theatremakers of color. Check out the agenda and information about all the other programming HEREContact conference@tcg.org with any questions.

TCG is grateful to our partners and supporters of the
2021 THRIVE! Week



Event Sponsorship plays an integral role in producing TCG events - including ways to reduce financial barriers for theatre practitioners across the country.
Contact Kevin Bitterman, Director of Institutional Advancement & Partnerships, to discuss opportunities to support TCG in leading for a just and thriving theatre ecology. 

Permalink